Ultimate Guide to Trademark Classes: Learn About the 45 Classes & Protect Your Brand

Every business needs a trademark for its identity. Registering it means putting it in the right classes. So, you must search carefully for the right trademark class. There are 45 classes in total, covering various items and activities.

What are the different types of classes in a Trademark?

There are 45 classes in total. That includes 34 for products and 11 for services. Let’s explore:


  • Class 1: Chemicals for different industries, like farming and photography.
  • Class 2: Paints and varnishes for painting and decorating.
  • Class 3: Products for cleaning and personal care, like soap and toothpaste.
  • Class 4: Oils and greases used in machines and engines.
  • Class 5: Medicines and medical supplies, including bandages and disinfectants.

Metals & Machinery

  • Class 6: Metals and metal materials for building and construction.
  • Class 7: Machines and tools for farming and industry.
  • Class 8: Hand tools like hammers and screwdrivers.

Technology & Instruments

  • Class 9: Electronic devices and gadgets, including computers and cameras.
  • Class 10: Medical instruments used in surgeries and treatments.
  • Class 11: Appliances for cooking, heating, and lighting.

Transportation & Weapons

  • Class 12: Vehicles like cars, trucks, and bicycles.
  • Class 13: Guns, ammunition, and explosives.

Precious Metals & Instruments

  • Class 14: Precious metals and jewelry.
  • Class 15: Musical instruments like guitars and pianos.

Paper & Textiles

Class 16: Paper products and stationery items.

Class 17: Rubber and plastic materials.

Leather & Non-Metallic Goods

  • Class 18: Leather products like bags and belts.
  • Class 19: Building materials such as bricks and cement.

Furniture & Household Goods

  • Class 20: Furniture and home decor items.
  • Class 21: Kitchen utensils and household tools.

Ropes, Textiles & Yarns

  • Class 22: Ropes, nets, and textile materials.
  • Class 23: Threads and yarns for fabrics.

Clothing & Fashion

  • Class 24: Clothing, shoes, and accessories.
  • Class 25: Hats, scarves, and other headgear.

Crafts & Miscellaneous Goods

  • Class 26: Lace, ribbons, and buttons.
  • Class 27: Carpets, rugs, and mats.

Games & Foodstuffs

  • Class 28: Toys, games, and sporting equipment.
  • Class 29: Food items like meat, fish, and fruits.

Beverages & Tobacco

  • Class 30: Beverages like tea, coffee, and soft drinks.
  • Class 31: Agricultural products such as grains and seeds.

Beverages & Tobacco

  • Class 32: Alcoholic drinks and tobacco products.
  • Class 33: Beverages like fruit juices and sports drinks.

Advertising & Business Services

  • Class 34: Advertising and marketing services.
  • Class 35: Business management and office support.

Financial, Construction & Telecommunication Services

  • Class 36: Financial and real estate services.
  • Class 37: Building and construction services.
  • Class 38: Telecommunication services.

Travel, Education & Entertainment

  • Class 39: Travel and transportation services.
  • Class 40: Services related to treating materials or products.
  • Class 41: Educational and entertainment services.

Technology & Medical Services

  • Class 42: Services related to technology and research.
  • Class 43: Food and drink services, including restaurants.
  • Class 44: Medical and healthcare services.

Healthcare & Legal Services

  • Class 45: Legal and security services, like lawyers and bodyguards.

Each class covers specific types of products or services. Choosing the right class ensures your trademark is properly registered and protected.

FAQ on Trademark Classes

What is a class in the trademark?

NICE, known as the International Certification of Products and Services, sets Trademark Class, which categorizes trademarks into 45 separate classes. Each class represents a specific group of products and services.

How many trademark classes are there in India?

There are 45 classes of trademarks in total. Classes 1 to 34 are for products, while classes 35 to 45 are for services.

What is Class 7 in trademark?

Trademark Class 7 includes machines, machine tools, motors, engines (except for land vehicles), parts for machine coupling and transmission (except for land vehicles), agricultural tools (except hand-operated ones), egg incubators, and automatic vending machines.

What is a Class 1 trademark?

Class 1 primarily covers chemical products used in industry, science, and agriculture. It includes substances used in making products from other classes. Specific items in this class are compost, preservative salt (excluding for food), and some additives for the food industry.

What is a Class 42 trademark?

Trademark Class 42 deals with scientific and technological services, including research and design in these fields. It also covers industrial analysis and research services, as well as the design and development of computer hardware and software.

× How can I help you?